Posted by: Deana | February 28, 2012

Couscous Pudding

I was given this cookbook, the petit appetit cookbook, as a hand-me-down when I was pregnant.  I’ve been using some of the recipes more recently and there have been a couple that A has really enjoyed so I’d like to keep track of them here.  The first is a couscous pudding that he has loved every time I’ve made it.  Not all of my ingredients are organic.

Couscous Pudding

  • ½ c. organic couscous (I use whole wheat)
  • 1 c. organic whole milk
  • 2 T. organic brown sugar
  • ¼ c. organic golden raisins
  • 1 c. plain organic whole milk yogurt
  • ¼ tes. vanilla extract
  • ¼ tes. ground cinnamon

In a medium saucepan, heat mild over medium heat just to boiling point.  Be careful not to burn.  (I also add the raisins at this point, I find that it plumps them up a little bit and makes them a little easier for A to eat.)  Remove pan from heat and stir in remaining ingredients to combine.  Cover and let sit for 20 minutes, or until the couscous absorbs milk and the texture is creamy.

Serve warm or cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.  You may need to add more yogurt when reheating if pudding becomes dry.

A seems to like this warm or cold, and sometimes he eats it right out of the fridge.

Leave a Reply

Categories

