Posted by: Deana | December 14, 2010

Beer Bread

Z especially enjoys this bread; it goes great with soup and stew.  I got this from a church cookbook I was given a few years ago:

Beer Bread

  • 3 c. self-rising flour (or 3 c. all-purpose flour with 3 tsp. baking powder and 1tsp. salt)
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1 (12 oz.) beer (room temp.)
  • 4 T. butter, melted

Combine all ingredients and mix just until moistened.  Pour batter into 9 x 5 x 3-inch loaf pan coated with non stick spray and dusted with flour.  Bake at 350º for 50 minutes.  You may brush with extra melted butter after it is cooked, if desired.  Serve warm.

Responses

  1. When you were young, I used to make beer bread too. I believe I got the recipe from the newspaper. I also gave it as gifts. I put the dry ingredients in a Christmas designed plastic bag and gave a can of beer. It is good toasted too. Love, Mom

  2. Wow, I had forgotten that, but as soon as I read this I remembered! It is very good toasted 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

