Posted by: Deana | May 5, 2009

Grandma’s Mac ‘n Cheese

This is my mom’s grandma’s recipe, and it is one of the first things I remember learning to make as a child.  It’s easy and growing up everyone loved this.  When my grandma would come for dinner for her birthday, I think this was always the dinner she requested.  I distinctly remember learning to “eye-ball” the milk in this recipe, and as a child I remember being amazed that Mom knew how much to put in without the recipe telling her!

Because I can’t eat this, I admit that I rarely make this now even though I know Z loves it.  The first year we were married I made him a full recipe and he ate it for a week.  And as much as he likes repeating recipes he loves, he’s not really one for eating the same thing all week, so he was ready for a break when it was finally gone.  I’m not sure that I made this again until a couple of weeks ago over Easter break.  Since we had family and friends visiting from out of town, I actually made a double batch and Z had lots of people to share it with.

Grandma’s Macaroni & Cheese

  • 1 qt. milk, plus extra if needed
  • cheese: sharp,swiss or jack (I usually use some combination of colby/jack and sharp)
  • ¹⁄3 c. butter
  • noodles, cooked al dente
  • dash of: nutmeg, pepper, salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Pre-heat oven to 350º.  Make two layers: noodles, cheese.  Pour milk in, until the pan is about ²⁄ 3 full.  Bake uncovered for 1 hour at 350º.  (Let it sit for a few minutes before serving so it sets up a bit.)

Responses

  1. How treasured it must be to have your great-grandma’s recipe! That’s really special.


Leave a Reply

Categories

