Posted by: Deana | February 5, 2009

Pizza!

At Home (aka my parents’ home; that will always be Home to me) for about as long as I can remember Saturday evening has been pizza night – homemade pizza night.  For years we’d have one that was maybe half-bacon and half-cheese and then another one that was maybe half-Canadian bacon and pineapple and half-pepperoni.  Over recent years my sister and I have both gotten married which means pizza night when everyone is home now must feed four guys instead of two which has led to the creation of the “butt-load” pizza – made by guys for guys.

Making pizza at our house is always a joint effort.  When the time comes for the dough to get started in the bread machine, whoever is home makes sure to get it going- which, truthfully usually ends up being Mom, but others of us have done it, when needed.  Then when it’s time to assemble the pizza’s whoever is rolling out the dough always sets one large pizza aside for the guys.  The guys usually work together to load up their pizza: sauce, lots of cheese, sausage, bacon, pepperoni, Canadian bacon, olives, pineapple on some of it, and more cheese on top to hold it all on.  When this pizza was created, the guys named it the butt-load – Mom cringed, and, later, Dad accidentally called it the butt-face pizza, so now it goes by either name.  I don’t think I’d like to eat something with “butt” in the name, but then maybe that’s part of their plan to keep it a guy’s pizza.

Here’s Mom’s pizza dough recipe; it’s what makes the pizza so good!

Pizza dough  (enough for 2 large pizzas)
1 1/2 C. warm milk
4 C. flour
1 T. oil
1 tes. salt
1/2 tes. sugar
1 tes. yeast

Mix and let set for about 30-60 minutes.  Punch down and kneed only a few times. (I do not like my crust to be thick, so I do not kneed it much.)  Divide the dough in half, roll each into a ball, then roll into large circles using a rolling pin.  Spray pan with Pam (Be sure to spray all the way to the lip for easier clean-up.  I usually open the dishwasher door and spray it over the opened door so the overspray goes on the inside door surface and gets washed away!)  or spread with butter for a buttery crust and  sprinkle with a little corn meal.  Place dough on pan and poke numerous times with fork tongs.

I use Ragu Homemade style pizza sauce.  One jar will do both pizzas.  I then sprinkle a little garlic powder and a small amount of fresh Parmesan cheese before adding the mozzarella and other toppings.

I use convection bake at 375 degrees (400 in a standard oven) and try to place them towards the bottom of the oven, switching them after about 11 minutes. Continue to bake for 4- 9 minutes or so.  The top may be fine before this amount of time, but you want to make sure the crust is done.

Responses

  1. I came in search of Zach’s Potato Pizza–do you still have a recipe for that? While I’m here, though, I might just let myself be distracted by another recipe… 🙂

  2. […] Potato Pizza Using Mom’s pizza dough… […]

  3. Enjoy!

    https://deanasrecipes.wordpress.com/2009/12/17/potato-pizza/


Leave a Reply

Categories

