Posted by: Deana | January 14, 2009

Snicker Doodles

Snicker Doodles are a favorite of Z’s, and Teri and I made them a lot growing up.  There’s more than one story that could be told about Teri and my childhood cookie-making endeavors, but I won’t go down that rabbit trail right now.

I made these cookies for church last week.  I made two batches because the first batch ended up very flat and thin.  I tried a second time, making sure the dough was cold and making the balls of dough a little bigger, but the result was very similar.  Not quite as thin the second time, but they definitely looked more like sugar cookies than snicker doodles.

I called Mom to confirm that I had written down her recipe correctly, and I had.  So next time, I might add a bit more flour and see if that helps.  Even though they were flat, they tasted great:

Snicker Doodles

  • 1 c. butter
  • 1½ – 1¾ c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2¾ c. flour (try 3 c. next time)
  • 2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt

for the outside of the cookies:

  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 T. sugar

Mix the butter, sugar and eggs.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, cream of tartar, soda and salt.  Add this mixture to the butter-sugar-egg mixture.

Chill the dough in the fridge.  When the dough is cold, roll it into 1-inch balls and roll the balls in the cinnamon and sugar mixture.  Place on a cookie sheet.

Bake at 400º for 8-10 minutes, or until they’re no longer doughy in the middle.

Leave a Reply

Categories

