Posted by: Deana | July 6, 2008

Mom’s “Killer” Potato Salad

This year for the 4th, we went to Z’s uncle’s house and hung out with Z’s uncle, aunt, two cousins, grandma & grandpa, a friend of his cousins’, and her parents.  We brought the potato salad, and everyone loved it – it was “killer.”  At one point in the evening, I turned around and one of the other guests was standing behind me; I smiled and he said, “Okay, tell me what you did to that potato salad. What’s your secret and whose recipe is it – your mom’s? dad’s? grandma’s?  Because when I took a bite of that, it took me right back to my mom’s potato salad from when I was a kid!”  I smiled and told him it was my mom’s recipe and the secret, I thought, was in the pickles and the splash of pickle juice.  Later Z told me that for someone to tell you that a dish happily reminded them of their mom’s recipe was the highest compliment someone could pay you.

Even Z’s a convert to this potato salad; although I think he’ll always like his mother’s the best, he does like this one now too.  I love it – thanks, mom, for another crowd-pleaser!  Although you can make this ahead of time and refrigerate it, it tastes best right after it’s made and it’s slightly warm from the potatoes.

Potato Salad

  • 10-15 potatoes
  • 1/2 c. green onions
  • 4-5 pickles (depending on how well you like pickles.  I’d put in 6-8 if I could, but to keep it from being overwhelming, I try to limit myself to 5)
  • 10 hard boiled eggs
  • mayonnaise – eyeball it
  • mustard – to taste, about 2 T.
  • a splash of pickle juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Peel the potatoes and cut them into large pieces.  Once the water is boiling, add the potatoes and boil for 10-15 mintues until they’re soft, but not too soft.  Drain the potatoes and let them cool.  Once they’re cool, cut them into smaller bite-sized pieces.  Add the other ingredients until it looks/tastes good!

Leave a Reply

Categories

