Posted by: Deana | May 10, 2008

Sunday Lunch!

Last Sunday we had one of our favorite meals for lunch: Mom’s flank steak, fresh French bread and the best salad dressing on a green salad. After lunch I made 100 cookies (see the post below). Here are the recipes:

Mom’s Marinade for Flank Steak:

  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 chopped green onions (I think we only put 2 in)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ¼ c. oil
  • ¼ c. soy sauce
  • 1 scant tes. dry thyme

Score meat on both sides and marinate 2-3 days. Barbecue about 6 minutes on each side. Slice on a diagonal.

This is my favorite bread recipe. It’s so easy to make and it always turns out well. This time was the first time I made it “crunchy” and it was SO good. Currently there are two small loaves cooling on the counter for Z and me and another larger loaf in the oven for my aunt and her family. It seems to work fine to double the recipe.

Jackie’s French Bread

  • 1¼ c. warm water (105º-115º F)
  • 1 Tbs. yeast
  • 1 Tbs. sugar
  • 1 Tbs. oil
  • 1½ tsp. salt
  • 3½ c. flour

Dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Let sit for about 5 minutes to get a little foamy (it’ll look like beer foam). Mix in remaining ingredients. Knead until smooth and elastic, adding more flour if necessary. Let rise to double, covered, in a warm place. (I usually have the oven set to warm while I’m making the dough. When the dough is ready, I turn the oven off and let the dough rise in the warm oven.)

Punch down and shape into a loaf. (I’ve done it longer and thinner like traditional French bread, and I’ve also done it more roundish like farm country French.) Place on a greased baking sheet. Slash the top and let sit for 20 minutes. Beat one egg (depending on the type of glaze I want sometimes I beat the whole egg and sometimes I just beat the whites. I think I prefer just the whites, but it’s good either way.) Optional: You can top the loaf with sesame or poppy seeds before baking.

Bake at 375º in preheated oven for 25 minutes. For crunchier bread, turn the oven off after 25 minutes and let the bread sit for another 10 minutes.

And to balance the meal, we had a delicious green salad. Here’s our favorite way to assemble a green salad, next time I think I want to try adding slivered almonds; I’m not sure we’ve ever done that, but I think it would be good. Update: A good addition has been chopped, or slivered, almonds, toasted/browned in butter – yummy!

Green Salad:

  • Romaine lettuce; sometimes some spinach, too
  • tomatoes
  • green onions
  • avocado

Simple? Yes. Yummy? Oh yeah, especially with the dressing! This recipe is from Jackie, she learned how to make it in France. It’s easy to memorize and since we’ve learned how to make it, I don’t think we’ve ever bought salad dressing again.

Jackie’s French Salad Dressing

  • 6 parts extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 part Dijon mustard
  • 1 part vinegar – whatever you’re in the mood for, my favorite is balsamic, Z’s favorite is red wine, but we’ve used others too
  • 1 clove of garlic minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Your favorite herb to taste (our favorite is Herbs de Provence, but you can customize it to go with your meal, since we had flank steak (which has thyme) we used thyme this time.

Shake or mix it all together and dress just before serving the salad. It is the best!


Responses

  1. […] night we had a delicious green salad, kalamata olives, and these biscuits.  Mom had given me this recipe from Oprah.com some time ago, […]

  2. […] Last night we had tomato soup with grilled cheese sandwiches.  The sandwiches were made with homemade french bread; Z put Muenster cheese on his and I used white cheddar that had been aged for over two years, and a […]

  3. Hi. We actually didn’t bring this recipe. It’s great to find it here! Later–CRB

  4. […] this bread recipe and we make it a lot, but there’s still a special place in my heart for Jackie’s French Bread.  Of all the thinks I bake and cook, bread is my favorite.  I genuinely enjoy the process of […]

  5. […] I love this bread recipe and we make it a lot, but there’s still a special place in my heart for Jackie’s French Bread.  Of all the thinks I bake and cook, bread is my favorite.  I genuinely enjoy the process of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

