Posted by: Deana | April 23, 2008

Scones!

This is a breakfast favorite; Z and I both have memories of scones being a special breakfast growing up. These are actually an easy breakfast treat, and I’ve even made them on workdays:

Mix:

  • 1¾ c. flour
  • 3 T. sugar
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 2½ tsp. baking powder
    Cut in ¹/3 c. shortening
    Add ¾ c. milk and mix well

Turn the dough out onto a well floured surface and knead 10 times. Split the dough in half and flatten each half into ½ in. thick. To make them look like traditional scone, leave them thicker in the middle and taper them toward the edges. Cut each round in half twice; so you end up with 8 triangular-shaped scones. Place them on an ungreased baking sheet. Here’s the key to a really good scone – I’m talking Fair-Scone-good, for those of you who’ve eaten those – let the scones sit for 20-40 minutes so they can rise a little.
(I just learned this trick recently, perhaps Mom has always done it this way, if so, I’m sorry for not paying better attention, Mom. In the past when I made scones, I’d cut them and immediately bake them, but Judy recently told me that Fair Scones are lighter because they let them rise first. I tried it last time I made scones, a couple of weeks ago, and they were deliciously light and fluffy!)

Bake at 425º-450º for 9-10 minutes.

My favorite way to eat home-made scone is how Mom makes them. After taking them out of the oven when they’re still hot cut them in half and put on some butter and put the top back on, once you’ve put butter in all the scones, go back to the first scone (the butter should be melted into the scone by then) and add jam; make sure it’s good jam. I personally don’t think anything can beat a homemade buttered scone with Mom’s homemade raspberry jam, although her boysenberry or blackberry make a close second.

Leave a Reply

Categories

