Posted by: Deana | February 16, 2008

Z’s Birthday & Valentine’s Day

For breakfast I made Z some heart-shaped pancakes. I adapted a recipe from my old and faithful church cookbook; this recipe was from Debbie:

  • 1 egg
  • ¾ c. milk (I used lactose free milk)
  • 2 tbsp. oil
  • 1 tbsp. sugar
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 c. flour ~ I used whole wheat flour and added a splash of orange juice because my King Arthur Whole Grain Baking book (that was recommended to me by Brandy) said that orange juice was a good way to keep the whole wheat flour from making pancakes taste sour.

Beat eggs until fluffy. Add remaining ingredients (there will be a few lumps in it). Pour on a hot, greased griddle.

They were great!
Pancakes

For his birthday dinner Z wanted a seafood meal, but we’ve been too busy to find a good place to get fresh seafood so we went with steaks, perhaps we’ll try to make it up to him by getting some seafood next week. We used a great recipe for the steaks that I found from The Pioneer Woman Cooks . We also made garlic mashed potatoes, which is something Z learned from his mom, for whom cooking is a delicious hobby, and he, in turn taught me:

  • red potatoes, washed and quartered
  • garlic, a few cloves
  • butter – a lot
  • salt and pepper to taste

While you’re washing and cutting the potatoes, bring your pot of water to a boil. Judy says this keeps the potatoes from absorbing more water if they soak while the water heats up. When the water is boiling add the potatoes and several cloves of garlic, the amount is based on how strong you want your garlic potatoes to be. When I make them we get a subtle garlic flavor in our mashed potatoes, when Z makes them we have some potatoes with our mashed garlic (at least that’s what it tastes like to me!). Boil the potatoes and garlic until the potatoes are soft. Drain the pot, add butter – the more butter the creamier the potatoes; this also makes them lactose free enough for me to eat! Sometimes I mash them by hand with a tradition potato masher for lumpier mashed potatoes, and sometimes I use my hand blender for buttery-smooth mashed potatoes. Then add salt and pepper to taste and you’re ready to go.

With that we also had asparagus; I cooked it according to a recipe I got from Emily’s Blog.

And finally dessert was a birthday present: a bottle of nice port.

Responses

  1. I feel so special that I got mentioned on your blog :0). I like that cookbook a lot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

