Posted by: Deana | March 17, 2009

Curried Split Pea Soup

Z and I don’t like split pea soup, or at least we didn’t used to like split pea soup.  Neither one of us liked it much growing up, but then, as almost-adults, our distaste for split pea soup was set in stone, so we thought.  To borrow a line from The Italian Job: We had a bad experience!  Any time I’d mention maybe trying it again, we’d both cringe a bit and move on to the next recipe.

So, what broke our split pea soup fast? Curry.  We love curry, so I thought if we could ever be tempted to give split pea soup a try again, curry would help.

Z did the grocery shopping last week while I was at work, and when I came home he asked, “Why did I buy a bag of dried green split peas?”  I told him it was for split pea soup.  His response: a cringe and raised eyebrows.  I told him confidently that it was Curried split pea soup, so we might actually like it, plus, it’s super cheep to make.  The eyebrows went down and bit and he conceded he’d be willing to try it.

We had it last week with some homemade pita bread which hadn’t worked out as pita bread, but was pretty good flat bread – good for dipping in thick soup anyway.  And we both liked it! Liked it enough to have it again, so I’m adding it here.  I found the recipe on the blog: elly says opa! There are a lot of yummy looking recipes over there, but I think this is the first one I’ve tried.

Curried Split Pea Soup
Serves 5-6

  • 1 lb. dried green split peas, rinsed and picked over
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 medium onion, diced (I used a large shallot)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6.5 cups chicken or vegetable broth (I was short a cup or a cup and a half of broth, so I added water and Z put in some kind of salty seasonings to make up for the lack of flavor the water had.)
  • 1.25 Tbsp. curry powder

Heat the butter over medium heat, and add the onions and a pinch of salt. Sweat the onions for a couple minutes, then add the garlic and sweat for a couple more. Make sure the onions and garlic don’t brown.

Add the peas, broth, and curry powder. Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, about 45 minutes or until split peas begin to lose their shape. Season to taste. Use a stick blender and puree to desired consistency.

Responses

  1. [...] curry, and I need to get some of our favorite curry recipes recorded here.  So far I only have Curried Spit Pea Soup, but there should be more coming: Chicken Broccoli, Curried Chicken Salad, and there are two [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

